Tsunami Hit Nations Mark Anniversary

Nations hit by the Indian Ocean Tsunami have had a memorial for the event. The services were held in Indonesia and other countries for the victims of the Tsunami that happened 10 years ago.

For some reason I’m a bit surprise that it’s been ten years since the Boxing Day Tsunami. It’s gone quickly over the last ten years.

When you’ve had an disaster that killed people from nations across the world I would have expected a lot more to be made of this. I do feel that it’s has been underdone.

Granted I really think that they didn’t do much for the anniversary of the September 11th attacks. I really expected a lot more for that and I really was expecting more for a memorial for such a major event that killed 228,000 people.

The question should be asked… what should we do to commemorate this who event?

Some how I think that a statue or a series of statues seem to a little hollow after 228,000 died. Maybe a massive memorial outside the United Nations. I think the fact that many people sat up and took notice to the world around them seems to be the best memorial to the whole event.

Today marks the 10th anniversary of the boxing day Tsunami. I hope we never forget such an awful event in the history of the world and human history.

Leave a Reply

